Monday - May 10, 2010

Last week I received the following e-mail:
“Dear Sir/Madam
I’m sorry to disturb you so abrupt. We are a domain name registration service company in Asia,
On 4th May. we received a formal application submitted by Mr. John Wang who wanted to use the keyword “learnthenet” to register the Internet Brand and with suffix such as .cn /.com.cn /.net.cn/.hk/.asia/ domain names.
After our initial examination, we found that these domain names to be applied for registration are same as your domain name and trademark. We aren’t sure whether you have any relation with him. Because these domain names would produce possible dispute, now we have hold down his registration, but if we do not get your company’s an reply in the next 5 working days, we will approve his application
As authorized anti-cybersquatting organization we hereby suspect Mr. John Wang is a domain investor. so we need you to attach importance to this issue.”
The e-mail came from someone named Tina (tina@domainnamesasia.com), with no last name given, nor any company listed, just a postal address in NanTong City, which I later discovered is about 65 miles northwest of Shanghai, China.
As the owner of the trademark for Learn the Net, I e-mailed Tina that the name is protected under U.S. and international law and that they should not allow John Wang to register the name.
Tina replied: “You would know domain name takes open registration, this is international domain name registration principle. So Mr. John Wang has right to register it.
If you think his registration will confuse your clients and harm your profits, we can send an application document to you and help you register these domains within our approving period. This is a better way to prevent domain name dispute.”
Of course Tina is wrong about “domain name takes open registration”. Under the protocol established by ICANN, the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers, the organization that approves Internet registrars, if a registrar knows that the registrant of a domain name is infringing on a trademark, it should deny the request. (More on this in a moment.) In fact “Tina” had acknowledged the infringement in her initial e-mail.
At this point, I got suspicious. I know that to register a .cn domain suffix, the Chinese government requires that you have a branch office in China or be a wholly owned subsidiary of a Chinese company. I went to the company website to see what I could learn about them.
The website says that “NanTong WiFi Network Technology Co.,Ltd is one of the largest and professional Internet consultant for oversea companies, which authorized by ShangHai Industry and Commerce Bureau and China government.” While there are lots of official looking logos on the site, they are just links to organizations like ICANN, not endorsements. WF.Network’s web address, www.domainnamesasia.com is suspiciously similar to www.domainnameasia.com, owned by BrightDomain, a legitimate web hosting and domain name registrar. But unlike BrightDomain, there is no way to register online, the standard way to do business with a registrar.
I e-mailed Tina inquiring if her company was certified by ICANN. She answered, “Yes, our company an ICANN authorized registrar.” ICAAN lists approved registrars, but you won’t be surprised to learn that NanTong WiFi Network isn’t on it.
My last exchange with Tina involved payment for the suggested “registrations”, which total $290 for a year. Here’s what she wrote: “For security reasons we only accept wire transfers.” Security for whom? Certainly not for the customer. Once you wire money to someone’s bank account, there’s no recourse.
By now you undoubtedly get the picture. This is a sophisticated ploy to scare businesses into forking over money for Internet real estate they may not need. But it got me thinking: How many domain suffixes does a business need? Between the 21 generic top-level domains, like .com, .net, and .biz and the 240 national top-level domains like .ca, .mx, and .de, a business could go broke.
A company like Google owns dozens of domains, like google.jp and google.in. Likewise Microsoft, Apple, Nokia and the many multinationals that do global business. If you visit these sites, you’ll see that the content is localized for the language and culture of the country and in many cases, offers different products and pricing. But even multinationals don’t own all the various combinations. Why? Because it’s not necessary.
According to Inc. magazine, “Don’ t think you’ re going to be able to own mcdonalds.biz or nike.info. Even if you somehow manage to register a trademarked name, unless you can show a legitimate claim for such a domain, the trademark holder can keep you from using it.”
When you register a domain name, you agree that it “will not infringe upon or otherwise violate the rights of any third party.” You must also agree to participate in arbitration if someone files a claim under ICANN’s Dispute Resolution Policy.
The bottom line is that if you hold a trademark or service mark and someone else is using it, you can file a dispute to have it yanked from the registrant. Even if your name isn’t trademarked, you may have legitimate grounds to reclaim it if the registrant is using it in bad faith. Sometimes just the filing of a dispute claim is enough to have the offending party surrender the domain name.
That’s exactly what I plan to do if John Wang—if he exists–uses the Learn the Net trademark. Spending the $290 may be cheaper than filing a claim, but who wants to be exploited in such a clumsy manner. If you’ve been contacted by NanTong WiFi Network or encountered similar scams, share your story. As the saying goes, “Sunlight is the best disinfectant.”
5 Trackbacks/Pingbacks
- Pingback: Learn the Net News » Chinese scammers strike again! on Wednesday - Jul 21, 2010
- Pingback: » Registration Proclamation (Or, How do you say “scam” in Chinese?) denbushi.blog on Thursday - Aug 5, 2010
- Pingback: Learn the Net News » Chinese scam redux on Tuesday - Oct 5, 2010
- Pingback: “Registration Proclamation” Chinese Domain Scam! on Saturday - Feb 19, 2011
- Trackback: Pehmer on Sunday - Sep 18, 2011
125 Comments
- Collin @ Monday - May 10, 2010
I also received the same email but with my domain name of “dbg” in the letter. This is a scam email intended to draw money from people. Several of these emails are now appearing in the last few weeks. Michael Lerner has done his due diligence. Let the email go to your junk email folder.
I assumed that I wasn’t the only one being scammed. Coincidentally, yesterday I received another email from another Chinese company:
Dear CEO,
We are the department of Asian Domain registration service in china, have something to confirm with you. We formally received an application on May 7, 2010. one company which self-styled “Kans Investment Co. Ltd” were applying to register”learnthenet” as Network Brand and following domain names:
learnthenet.asia
learnthenet.cn
learnthenet.com.cn
learnthenet.com.hk
learnthenet.com.tw
learnthenet.hk
learnthenet.net.cn
learnthenet.org.cn
learnthenet.tw
After our initial checking, we found the brand name were similar to your company’s, so we need to check with you whether your company has authorized that company to register these names. If you authorized this, we will finish the registration at once. If you did not authorize, please let us know within 7 workdays, so that we will handle this issue better. Out of the time limit we will unconditionally finish the registration for “Kans Investment Co. Ltd”.
Best Regards,
Derek Liu
Senior Consultant
Tel : +86-21-69106991
Fax : +86-21-69106670
Postal Code: 201315
Address: Room520, No.1775 CaoAnRoad,Jiading District,Shanghai,China
http://www.ds-china.org.cn/
I sent him a reply similar to the one that went to “Tina”. And guess what? His response mirrors hers:
Many thanks for your confirmation, If you have no relationship with Kans Investment Co., Ltd, I represent our company to announce the following several points:
1. Our company is a registration organization in Shanghai, China. Because “Kans Investment Co., Ltd” had applied for following domain names throught our body, and following domain names are conflicting with the company name & domain names you are using, we decided to inform you.
2. The principle of domain names registration is always open, “who is first, who is the owner”. As a domain name registrar, we have no right to dispute their application. As the company whose trademarks relate to the applied domains, and your company have already use the http://www.learnthenet.com you own the preferential rights to register them.
3. Your company must evaluate this matter very well, if these domain names being applied for by “Kans Investment Co., Ltd” will take some troubles and affect your future businesss in China, then we can apply for the prority of registration for your company.
4. If your company do need to register those Domains in China please contact us in time, then we’ll inform you how to register. Above is our company’s simple declaration. There is a time limit. Pls let us know your decision soon. Waiting for your reply.
My next reply to Mr. Liu will include a link to this blog post.